Strike 1: new skincare routine

So I wrote a post a few months ago about my super-duper-awesome skincare routine that I was sure was going to solve my every dermal problem and end world hunger. Except for I realized I was sensitive to the dimethicone in my acne treatment and my cleanser couldn’t wash it (or all of my makeup) off, leading to more clogged pores and blemishes.

On to round two! I’ve been using this exact routine for a few weeks now and it seems to really be working (I am literally knocking on wood as I type this).

Current skincare:

AM – wash with Desert Essence Completely Clean face wash (castile soap based)
treat with AcneFree Terminator 2.5% regular (w/ alcohol)
moisturize with Avon Banishing cream

PM – wash with MAC Cleanse-off Oil (OCM with safflower/castor oils 1x/week)
treat with Avene Diacneal
moisturize with Avon Banishing cream

The castile soap seems to dry out my skin (which, for me, is fantastic) and I surprisingly haven’t had a single problem with the alcohol in the AcneFree treatment. Even though the Avon cream has dimethicone, it was recommended to me by a girl with some of the most beautiful skin I’ve ever seen, so I HAD to give it a shot. Plus, the Cleanse-off Oil and OCM really break down whatever’s on top of the skin so I haven’t had as much pore-clogging action as usual. Diacneal = <3.

My mom has been bugging me literally for YEARS to try ProActiv, and while I was at Walgreen’s yesterday I saw the AcneFree sensitive kit on clearance for about $10. I used the regular AcneFree kit and HATED it, but the ingredients in this one looked nice (sulfate-free, tea tree oil, benzoyl peroxide in a lose dose, salicylic acid, retinyl palmitate, triclosan, silicone-free, yay!) and it had the treatment I love so much, but in a sensitive version without the alcohol. Starting today I’m using it in place of my AM routine (I hope I don’t regret this) and I’ll post updates if anyone’s interested.

Another couple of things I think are really helping:

  • Changing pillowcases often (I just got a sheet set with FOUR pillowcases, score!)
  • Using microfiber hand towels and baby washcloths to exfoliate at night (and it feels soooo good to wipe off the cleansing oil)
  • Washing things that will touch my face (i.e. towels, washcloths, sheets, pillowcases) in sensitive skin, fragrance free detergent and bleach, when I can
  • I used to use witch hazel religiously but not as much anymore. I still love it in emergencies, though.
  • I also read online at zerozits.com that skincare treatments are more effective and work faster when refrigerated. I have no idea what the science is behind this (if any) but I need to remember to put mine in my beer….ummm…..I mean, beverage fridge.

If you have any good skincare tips, please please share!

Leave a Reply

