The hand off: tips for a closer shave

To say that I don’t like to shave my legs is an understatement.  It just doesn’t work for me.  (Once, I went to a new beau’s house and while we were snuggling he ran his hand over my leg and said, “Um, you need to shave.”  I just did, I said.  “Maybe you should get a new razor.”  …It was a new razor.)

So I got really excited when Amber of Beauty Blogging Junkie wrote about this awesome shave oil by Lab Series Skincare for Men.  I’m pretty much a sucker for anything “oil” (just bought my second bottle of jojoba and it is still love after all this time) and with Amber’s comparison to Sex and the City and the proclamation that it produces a “SUPER close shave,” I knew I had to try it.  But at $18 an ounce, it would have to wait.

Fast forward to Total Beauty, where I took this quiz about shaving.  Lo and behold, what do they recommend for sensitive-skinned ladies (and lads)?  Olive oil as a pre-shave prep.  So I whipped out my super-sized bottle of World Market extra virgin olive oil ($9), applied to towel-dried legs, and shaved away.  Then I rinsed and wiped off the excess oil with a washcloth (or bathcloth, as my grandma would say).  Five minutes later the oil had my skin had drunk up all the oil, leaving my legs naturally soft and smooth.  I tried again yesterday on just-out-of-the-shower skin, and this time I just rinsed with water.  That left my legs (and super-sensitive ‘pits) a bit oilier, but soft as a baby’s bottom nonetheless.

My all-time favorite hair remover is still Softsheen Carson Magic Razorless Beard Remover ($3).  Slap some of that on (wear rubber gloves so you don’t get it all over your hands) then check your email or call your mom for 10 minutes before rinsing off.  Voila!  You can then run over your legs with a razor to get any spots you missed.  This stuff literally lasts DAYS before stubble starts to show.

If any of you are feeling particularly generous and want to give back, I’d love some tips for how to keep my unruly cowlicks under control.  Seriously.  Leave it in the comments!

P.S. If you were wondering…I’m SO a Samantha.

Leave a Reply

